*Strictly*Lullah*











{December 28, 2009}   Remembering for the good… & unfortunate.

Every one will choose their own personal reasons to remember the year of 2009. I will remember some good things that happened during this year, but I will not forget the friends I lost as well…

I remember a particular event that was in memory of a childhood friend of mine. Eric Lingard who would’ve been sweet 16 passed away Jan. 10, 2009. I remember receiving a text message from a good friend of mine, also his cousin. It read a note in Memory of Eric. I immediately teared up in sorrow, I didn’t believe it at first so I had to call Sara. She told me what had happened and I couldn’t believe my ears.

Eric was only 15 years old when he passed away. I met him when I was 8 or 9, he was younger than I, so he was inevitably my younger brother’s friend. He always had a crush on me, always asking me if I needed anything. Unfortunately, I liked his older brother, and everyone on the block knew it. Instead of me actually telling Eric if I wanted anything, there were times when he would get things for his brother, and include me.

Our block of kids were all friends. Some closer than others, but all friends in some way. We hung out on the corner, and caused trouble in the ‘hood’. Our group of friends would hang out after school, and play kickball.When summer rolled around we were playin’ hide and go seek, or kickball almost everyday… Eric was one of the hellians out of the group. He had the sweet innocent smile, and knew how to pull it off.

At the time of our acquainting, throwing shoes over the electrical wires was ‘cool’… Our mother would never let us tie the shoestrings together and throw them over the wires, at least not at the time. We found ways around this, some of us had old shoes that we’d throw up. But Eric, he had to be the badass, standing out from everyone as always. He confidently walked out of his house to the corner, after spending 2 hours at the mall, he had new shoes.

Eric noticed that the city took the shoes down from the day before, and he was talking intensely about it. I had a feeling something drastic would come of the attitude he portrayed. He swiftly took the brand-new shoes off his feet, proceeded to tie the laces together, and thrusting them over the electrical wire. Everyone laughed and gave him shit. As the laughing and astonishment continued in a huddle, the Alliant Energy Man drove by in his truck. Noticing there were shoes on the wire, he asked if there was a mistake with them being up there. Of course, being Eric, he asked the man to take them down for him. Politely so, the man removed his shoes.

After the Alliant Guy left the scene, Eric resumed the position of throwing his shoes, once again, over the electrical wires. 🙂 He has 2 older brothers that I know he looked up to VERY much, both of which were reaming his ass about how their dad was going to flip. Eric laughed it off and proceeded shoeless and proudly along.

Eric was always bold, very good Skateboarder, and always willing to try new things. I know Eric loves his family, and all the friends he has ever had. We held a ‘party’ for him at Riverview Park in Marshalltown. I was surprised to find a LOT of people from varieties of ”groups”. It made me pleased to see that so many would show. Some people would say it was ‘dumb’ to sing Happy Birthday to the sky, and send over 35 balloons to the clouds. But I’m sure he enjoyed to song, and loved the balloons and notes. I will always remember him, not only for being my brother’s friend, but for also being strong, and determined. We Miss You!

There are others that I remember from the prior 5 years, including Lawrence Spencer, his twin Leonard Spencer (wife Deb), and recent-friend Crystal.       We all miss and love you dearly.      Please watch us on our Journey, as you will always be in our hearts.

Sincerely, Chelsea Ann



Bre says:

Chelsea,
I am so sorry for this… I wish I could be more patient.
I am going to miss you terribly.
I can’t wait to see what 2010 brings to us.
I LOVE YOU tremendously.
Bre



Leave a comment

et cetera